Installation and Admission of new members of Cathedral Chapter takes place in Enniskillen


Bishop John McDowell and Bishop Patrick Rooke with the new Cathedral Chapter members.

The installation of six new positions of the Cathedral Chapter in Clogher Diocese took place at a service on Trinity Sunday, 16th June in St. Macartin’s Cathedral, Enniskillen.

The installation of Revd Canon Kyle Hanlon as Precentor; Revd Canon Ian Berry as Chancellor; Revd Ngozi Njoku as Prebendary of Kilskeery and Revd Paul Thompson, as Prebendary of Donacavey and the Admission of Revd Elizabeth Thompson and Revd Alan Irwin as Canons was carried out by Dean Kenneth Hall assisted by the Registrar, Revd John McClenaghan.

The Bishop of Clogher, Right Revd. John McDowell also took part in the service and the preacher was Right Revd. Patrick Rooke, Bishop of the United Dioceses of Tuam, Killala and Achonry.

The hymns were; “Bright the vision that delighted,” “Holy, holy, holy! Lord God almighty,” “I, the Lord of sea and sky,” and “Be thou my vision, O Lord of my heart.” The organist was Mr. Glenn Moore.

The lessons were read by Mrs Rosemary Barton MLA, Canon Ngozi Njoku and Canon Paul Thompson.

There was a large congregation with many members of the families and friends of the six new office-holders also attending.

The service also included the celebration of Holy Communion.

Everyone attending were entertained to tea in the Cathedral Hall following the service.