Institution of Revd Kenneth Hall
Institution of Revd Kenneth Hall as Rector of Enniskillen Cathedral

Parishioners of Enniskillen Cathedral, along with individuals from throughout the Diocese of Clogher, the wider community and beyond, gathered together to fill the Cathedral Church of St Macartin, Enniskillen for the institution of the Revd Kenneth Hall as Rector, who succeeds the Revd Precentor Brian Courtney. The service took place in the on the Eve of St Michael and All Angels, Tuesday 28th September 2010 at 8.00pm. The service of Institution was conducted by the Bishop of Clogher, the Rt Revd Dr Michael Jackson, the organist was Mrs Gill Spence, and the singing was led by the Cathedral Choir. Before and after the service the Cathedral’s Peal of Bells were rung by the Cathedral’s Bell-ringers.
A large number of Parish and Diocesan Readers and Clergy from across the Diocese and the Church of Ireland in general attended. Representatives from the Methodist, Presbyterian, and Roman Catholic Church were also in attendance.
The Organ Preludes included Cornet Voluntary in G Minor by Georg Berg and Voluntary in D by John Alcock, and the Organ Postlude was Now Thank We All Our God (Nun Danket) by Johann Cruger and James Pethel.
The procession was led by the Verger, Mr Jack Watson, and the processional hymn was “Praise to the Lord, the Almighty, the King of creation.”
The Old Testament Reading, from Second Kings chapter 6, was read by Mrs Patricia Kells, a member of the Parish Safeguarding Trust Panel, the Psalm was Psalm 91, and the Epistle was from Revelation chapter 12, read by Mr Jim Kerr, a member of the Select Vestry and a Diocesan Reader. The Gradual hymn was “He who would valiant be” and the Gospel reading was from St Matthew chapter 18, read by the Revd Betty Thompson, Non-Stipendiary Minister. The Sermon was preached by the Most Revd Alan Harper, O.B.E., Archbishop of Armagh, Primate of All Ireland and Metropolitan.
Having been presented by the Archdeacon, the Venerable Cecil Pringle, Revd Hall was instituted by the bishop, who was assisted by the Diocesan Registrar, the Revd Canon John Stewart. The Act of Institution was followed with the hymn “Angel voices, ever singing” and the Commission, during which a number of reading took place. Those reading during the Commission included Mr Karl Saunders, a member of the Select Vestry and Sunday School Superintendent; Mrs Stephanie Hamilton, Sunday School Teacher; Mr Ronnie Carson, Youth Club Leader; Luke Todd, a member of the Sunday School; and Rebecca Campbell, a member of the Youth Fellowship. The hymn “God, whose city's sure foundation” followed the Commission, and the offertory hymn was “Lord, you give the great commission”. The final hymn was “Be thou my vision, O Lord of my heart.” Everyone was invited for tea after the service in the Cathedral Hall, where a number of speeches were made under the chairmanship of Mr Sam Morrow, Honorary Secretary of the Cathedral. Mrs Ethen Harkness spoke on behalf of Revd Hall’s former parish, Mr Raymond Campbell spoke on behalf of Enniskillen Cathedral Parish, the Revd David Cupples on behalf of the local Presbyterian Church, the Revd Samuel McGuffin on behalf of the local Methodist Church, and the Revd Peter O’Reilly on behalf of the local Roman Catholic Church. The bishop concluded the speeches, and those present were informed that the Revd Kenneth Hall will be installed as Dean of Clogher at a service of installation in St Macartan’s Cathedral, Clogher on 15th October 2010, when the preacher will be the Primus of the Scottish Episcopal Church and Bishop of Saint Andrews, Dunkeld and Dunblane, the Most Revd David Chillingworth.